Montiaghs Civil Parish
County Armagh, Northern Ireland

Barony Oneilland East
Poor Law Union Lurgan
Catholic Diocese Dromore
Catholic Parish Seagoe
Presbyterian Congregation Bellville


Search the IGP County Armagh website



MOYNTAGHS, or ARDMORE, a parish, in the barony of ONEILLAND EAST, county of ARMAGH, and province of ULSTER, 4 miles (N. W.) from Lurgan, on the road to Stewartstown, by way of the Bannfoot ferry; containing 2891 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the southern shore of Lough Neagh, and is bounded on the south-west by the river Bann; it comprises, according to the Ordnance survey (including islands), 18,098 1/4 statute acres, of which 12,178 are in Lough Neagh, 305 1/2 in Lough Gullion, and 83 in the Bann. About one-half of the land is arable, and the remainder bog, which C. Brownlow, Esq., has attempted to drain and reclaim. For this purpose he erected a windmill, which was soon destroyed by a storm, and was replaced by a steam-engine, which proved ineffectual. An extensive embankment was formed across Lough Gullion, and the steam-engine long employed in draining it; but all these efforts were defeated, as the water seemed to return by subterranean springs. Agricultural pursuits, fishing, weaving linen, and working the turf bog, are the principal employments of the inhabitants. Raughlin, the seat of J. Forde, Esq., is surrounded by plantations, gardens, and pleasure-grounds of a luxuriant character, and commands splendid views of the lake and the counties of Tyrone, Derry, Antrim, Down, and Armagh: in the lake is an island, beautifully planted with fruit-trees and evergreens, the whole forming a beautiful spot in the midst of a boggy and unproductive tract. On the opposite shore is the glebe-house, the residence of the Rev. D. W. Macmullen. Moyntaghs was formerly part of the parish of Seagoe, but in 1765 it was erected into a separate parish. By charter of James I., the rectory was made one of the five parishes constituting the union of Donaghclony and corps of the archdeaconry of the diocese of Dromore, to which it remained united until 1832, when, by act of council, the union was dissolved, and it was united and consolidated with the vicarage, and the living is now a rectory and vicarage, in the diocese of Dromore, and in the patronage of the Bishop. The tithes amount to 54. 2. 6., besides which, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners grant 71. 2. out of Primate Boulter's fund. The glebe-house was erected by aid of a gift of 415. 7. 8 1/2., and a loan of 55. 7. 8 1/4 ., British currency, from the late Board of First Fruits, in 1820; the glebe comprises 13 acres, valued at 16. 5. per annum. A small church was built in 1765, close to the shore of Lough Neagh, but it was blown down in a storm on Nov. 4th, 1783; after which accident the new one was built, in 1785, on a more eligible site; its elevated situation and tapering spire, render it an interesting object when viewed from the lake or any of the neighbouring shores: the late Board gave 276. 18. 5 1/2., British currency, towards its erection. In the R. C. divisions the parish forms part of the union or district of Seagoe. About 60 children are educated in the parochial school, which is principally supported by the incumbent; the school-house is large and commodious. There are also three private schools, in which are about 130 children, and a Sunday school. C. Brown-low, Esq., the proprietor of the parish, built a village near the Bannfoot ferry, naming it Charlestown; he obtained a patent for a fair on the first Monday in every month, but it has not yet succeeded. This village is seven miles from Lurgan, Portadown, and Stewartstown, being intentionally equidistant from each of these towns.
Topographical Dictionary of Ireland by Samuel Lewis, 1837


Do you have a description of this civil parish or a picture?  If you send it/them, I will put it/them in this space.



Charlestown Town
Derrytagh North
Derrytagh South


Family History Library Film Numbers

Film Title Film number(s)
Tithe Applotments, 1833 #258465
Griffith's Valuation, 1864 #258751
GV Field Books #2357280
Parochial registers of RC Parish of Seagoe:  baptisms; marriages, 1836-1860, 1833, 1860; deaths, 1836-1860; marriages, 1830-1881; and deaths, 1860-1881 #926088
1901 Ireland Census, 1901 D.E.D. 49/11-12, 1-12, 13c #812096
1911 Ireland Census, Montiaghs D.E.D. 51/1 Townland: Ardmore #1999541
1911 Ireland Census, Montiaghs D.E.D. 51/2-7 Townlands: Ballynery, Derryadd, Derrycor, Derryinver, Derryloste, Derrymacash #1999542
1911 Ireland Census, Montiaghs D.E.D. 51/8-13 Townlands: Derrytagh North, Derrytagh South, Derrytrasna; Croaghan Island, Reedy Flat Island; Charlestown Town #1999557

(before ordering films, check # for accuracy)


Campbell Pat Connors
Fox Pat Connors
Todd Pat Connors
To add your surname Email IGP County Armagh


Civil Parish Links

Tithe Applotments, Montiaghs Civil Parish, ConnorsGenealogy website
Griffith's Valuation Index, Montiaghs Civil Parish, John Hayes' website
1901 Ireland Census, Montiaghs DED, Archives of Ireland website
1911 Ireland Census, Montiaghs DED, Archives of Ireland website
Montiaghs Civil Parish Churches, South Armagh Genealogy Project website
Add your links, send an email describing link and don't forget the URL



Information to be added:
     Description of civil parish
     etc. etc. etc.


Your help is needed.  If you have anything that you think will add to this website, including records, that will help others when researching this civil parish's genealogy, please email me.


Back to the County Armagh Land Divisions website....


Back to the County Armagh website....


2001-2010ConnorsGenealogy, Ireland Genealogical Projects
last updated August 16, 2010