Welcome to the IGP Galway Page

County Galway is located on the west coast of Ireland in the province of Connacht. It is estimated that the area has been inhabited for over 7000 years. Although, Galway did not become an offical county until the 16th century, prior to this the area was split into kingdoms with names such as Aidhne, Uí Maine, Maigh Seóla, Conmhaícne Mara, Soghain and Máenmaige.

The population of the county was 258,058 at the 2016 census of which almost 80,000 live in the principle urban area of Galway City. Approximatly 50,000 people in County Galway live in the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking districts).



Local History Groups

Towns of County Galway

Galway Graveyards



Towns of Galway

Ahascragh, Ardrahan, Athenry, Aughrim, Ballinasloe, Ballinderreen, Ballyconneely, Ballygar, Ballymacward, Ballymoe, Ballynahinch, Barna, Bealadangan, Belclare, Bullaun, Camus, Carna, Carnmore, Carraroe, Casla, Castleblakeney, Castlegar, Claregalway, Clarinbridge, Cleggan, Clifden, Clonbur, Clonfert, Corofin, Corrandulla, Corr na Móna, Craughwell, Dunmore, Eyrecourt, Furbo, Galway, Glenamaddy, Gort, Headford, Inverin, Kilcolgan, Kilconly, Kilconnell, Kilkerrin, Kilkieran, Killimor, Kilronan, Kiltullagh, Kinvara, Knocknacarra
Laurencetown, Leenaun, Letterfrack, Lettermore, Loughrea
Maam Cross, Maum, Menlough, Milltown, Monivea, Mountbellew, Moycullen, Newbridge, New Inn, Oranmore, Oughterard, Peterswell, Portumna, Recess, Rosmuck, Rossaveal, Roundstone, Skehana, Spiddal, Tully, Tully Cross, Tuam, Turloughmore, Williamstown, Woodford


Common Surnames

Connolly, Conroy, Daley, Dillon, Donlon, Egan, Gallagher, Hackett, Keane, Kelly, Lyons, Malone, Manning, Mullin, Murray, Murphy, O'Connor, Walsh



Adopted by Sharon Slater of Limerick's Life.