Carlow County - Ireland Genealogical Projects (IGP TM)

Extract from Bunbury Papers
County Carlow Police, 1822

By kind permission of Turtle Bunbury


County Carlow Police, 1822

County of Carlow - New Police

On Tuesday, the 10th instant, a meeting of Magistrates took place in this town, according to adjournment, for the purpose of appointing the new constables - Colonel Rochfort in the Chair: seventeen Magistrates present.

Major Tandy attended with the list of those who had been selected, which met the general approbation of the Magistrates and the business of the day terminated to the satisfaction of the meeting.

There have been seventy-two constables appointed for the county at large, fourteen to each barony, and divided as follows :- Carlow 8; Hacketstown, 6; Rathvilly, 6; Tullow, 6; Myshall, 5; Blacklion, 5; The Ridge, 6; Bagenalstown, 8; Borris, 8; St. Mullins, 10 ; Nurney, 4.

This town is of course to be head-quarters, where we are to have a resident chief constable (not yet named), who is to keep up a regular communication with the other chief constables, to be stationed at Tullow and Borris. So that the entire body may be brought to act in any one part of the county at a few hours' notice.

Major Tandy is to have the command of the whole district, and we are very willing to acknowledge that the establishment could not be under better surveillance.-

Source: Carlow Morning Post., and The Times, December 17, 1822, p. 2.

The above is a true and accurate transcript of the original document.
Source: Turtle Bunbury c2012

Please report any links or images which do not open to

The information contained in these pages is provided solely for the purpose of sharing with others researching their ancestors in Ireland.
2001 Ireland Genealogy Projects, IGP TM  By Pre-emptive Copyright - All rights reserved