County Derry

Census Substitutes
and Miscellaneous Records
Roman Catholic Church Records

The following records are available for the Roman Catholic church in County Derry. Some are in local custody (LC) and can be gotten by writing to the local priest. Others are available thruogh the Genealogical Centre (GC) and still others at the National Library of Ireland (NLI) and the National Archives of Ireland (NAI) and through the Salt Lake City Family History Center (SLC film numbers). Good luck in your search.

Civil Parish Roman Catholic Parish Earliest Dates Location
Aghadowey Coleraine, part Errigal . .
Aghanloo Newtown Limavady, see Aghanloo 1855 GC
Agivey Coleraine . .
Ardboe Ardboe, Co. Tyrone . .
Artrea Artrea and Desertlin (Moneymore) 1830 GC, LC, NLI
Ballinderry Ballinderry 1827 LC, NLI, GC
Ballyaghran Coleraine 3 .
Ballymoney See co. Antrim . .
Ballynascreen Ballynascreen or Draperstown (see Dungiven for pre 1834 records) 1825 LC, Nli, GC
Balyrashane see co. Antrim . .
Ballyscullion Bellaghy, also Magherafelt 1844 LC, NLI, GC
Ballywillin Coleraine, also County Antrim . .
Balteagh Errigal . .
Banagher Feeny (or Banagher) 1848 LC, NLI, GC
Bovevagh Banagher, part Dungiven . .
Carrick Newtown Limavady, see Aghanloo . .
Clondermot Glendermot (Waterside) 1864 LC, NLI, GC
Coleraine Coleraine 1848 LC, NLI, GC
Cumber Lower Glenermot, Clondermot, Cumber . .
Cumber Upper Cumber Upper and Learmoutn (Claudy) 1863 LC, NLI, GC
Derry City Templemore . .
Derryloran Desertcreat, Co. Tyorne . .
Desertlyn part Artrea, part Magherafelt . .
Desertmartin Desertmartin and Kilcronaghan 1848 LC, NLI, GC
Desertoghill Kilrea, also Errigal . .
Drumachose Newtown Limavady See Aghanloo . .
Dunboe Dunboe, Macosquin and Aghadowey 1843 LC, NLI, GC
Dungiven Dungiven, also Ballynascreen 1848 LC, NLI, GC
Errigal Errigal 1846 LC, NLI, GC
Faughanvale Faughanvale and Lower Cumber (Creggan) 1860 LC, NLI, GC
formoyle Magilligan, see Tamlaghtard, also Dunboe . .
Kilcronaghan Desertmartin and Kilcronaghan . .
Kildollagh Coleraine . .
Killelagh Errigal, part Maghera . .
Killowen Coleraine . .
Kilrea Kilrea and Desertoghill 1846 LC, NLI, GC
Learmont Cumber Upper . .
Lissan Lissan, Co. tyrone . .
Londonderry City Templemore, also Glendermot, Clondermot . .
Loughermore Cumber Upper . .
Mascosquin Coleraine, Part Dunboe . .
Maghera Maghera and Killylough, part Termoneeny 1841 LC, NLI, GC
Magherafelt Magherafelt and Artrea 1834 LC, NLI, GC
Tamlaght Co. Tyrone . .
Tamlahtard Tamlaghtard or magilligan 1863 LC, NLI, GC
Tamlaght Finlagan Newtown Limavady and Aghanloo . .
Tamlaght O'Crilly Greenlough and part Kilrea 1845 LC, NLI, GC
Templemore Templemore (St. Columb's, Long Tower, Derry) 1823 LC, NLI, GC
Termoneeny Termoneeny (Lavey) 1871 LC, NLI, GC

This county is maintained by Diana Hanson

[Last updated 31 May 1998 - Diana Hanson]