Carlow County - Ireland Genealogical Projects (IGP TM)

Michael O'Hanrahan
O’Hanrahans Football Team

Source: Carlow in Old Picture Postcards Vol.3 by Michael Purcell. (2000).

Michael O'Hanrahan
(Author of "The Swordsman of the Brigade," etc)
Executed in Kilmainham Prison, May 4th, 1916.

In 1881 at the age of four years Michael Hanrahan moved with his family to Carlow from Wexford. His father established a business as a cork manufacturer at 90 and 91 Tullow Street. Michael was educated in the Christian Brothers’ school. He founded the Gaelic League in Carlow and was also a founding member of Carlow Workman’s Club. A founding member of the Irish Volunteers, during the 1916 Rising Michael fought at Jacob’s Garrison. The garrison surrendered to the British forces on Sunday, 30th April 1916, Michael was tried by Court Martial, was sentenced to death and was executed on Thursday, 4th May 1916. His brother Henry was also sentenced to death, but the sentence was commuted to penal servitude for life.

O’Hanrahans Football Team

Within three years of the execution of Michael O’Hanrahan a football team was formed in Carlow (1919) and named O’Hanrahans. In this picture we see O’Hanrahans team which won the County Championships and were awarded the Haughney Memorial Trophy for 1937. The final was between two Carlow town-based teams. O’Hanrahans (the Blues) had last won the finals in 1932. On this occasion they played against the Young Emmets (the Rockies). The Rockies were favourites and many players on the Rockies team had once played with the Blues. The rivalry guaranteed a record attendance at the match. The result: O’Hanrahans l-7,Young Emmets 0-3.

The First O’Hanrahan Gaelic Football Team 1919

Back row: P. (Whack) Hayden, P. Lawler, P. Kavanagh, N. Keyes, P. Reilly, M. Cullen, T. Conners, J. Byrne, R. Ager.
Middle row: T. McGrath, J. Timmons, P. Kelly, J. Murphy.
Front row: C. Timmons, P. Hayden, J. Darcy, J. Mahon, J. Rice

Source: Carloviana Vol 2. No. 31. 1983 p.16.

The First O’Hanrahan Gaelic Football Team 1919
Hanrahan Gaelic Football Team

O’Hanrahans Football Team 1928-1929
Back Row, L. to R.: Tom Finn, Club Secretary; 'Bolum' Hogan, Sonny Wall, 'Yellow' Tom Mulhall, Billy Moran, Tom Shaw, Tommy Moran, 'Crewman' Paddy Kavanagh, Murt Lennon. Centre Row, L. to R.: Matt Lynam, Dick Hogan, Ned Geoghegan, Johnny Murray, Ned Haughney, Jack Clarke. Front Row, L. to R.: Jackie Geoghegan, 'Drakes' Walker, Mick Murray, 'Buller' Moore, Johnny 'Daw' Nolan.

C (The Blues) 1937
Back row, left to right: Joe Brennan, D. O’Connell and John Doyle.
Centre: Gda. John McMahon, Jim Breen, Tommy Moran, Dinny Murray, Gda. Mick Behan, Jim Geoghegan, Phil Comerford, James Doyle, James Mulhall, Pim Quinlan and Tommy Little, Chairman.
Front: John Murray, Paddy 0 Brien, Jimmy Cummins, Micky Byrne (mascot, M. Murray), Fr. Miller, Jim Rea, Danny Coughlin and Jackie Geoghegan. Missing are J. Mc Kenna and J. Whelan.

O’Hanrahans Under 13s
Finalists in 1986-1987 Winter League.
Back Row L to R: Fergus McCarthy, David Donovan. David Byrne, Brian Naughton, Niall English, Keith Somers, Joe Fanning, PJ Culleton, Paddy Doyle, David Whelan. Front Row L to R: Shane Kelly, Barry Nolan, Darren Rea, Patrick Nolan, Jeffrey Byrne, Gavin Reddy, Eddie Dooley,  Eddie Dooley, Niall Scully, PeterNolan.

Carlow S.F.C. Roll of Honour - O'Hanrahan's 16 Games -1927, 1928, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1937, 1942, 1945, 1951, 1954, 1958, 1961, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003.

Source of dates:

Source: Carlow in Old Picture Postcards Vol.3 by Michael Purcell. (2000).

Next Page - Carlow Football Champions 1937

Website: MORE IMAGES OF O'Hanrahans (The Blues)

Please report any links or images which do not open to
The information contained in these pages is provided solely for the purpose of sharing with others researching their ancestors in Ireland.
© 2001 Ireland Genealogy Projects, IGP TM

Back to the Top